Committee: Senate Military and Veterans Affairs Wednesday, January 26, 2022 3:00 PM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Castleberry, Sen. David Johnson, Sen. V. J. Smith, Sen. Stalzer, and

Sen. Zikmund

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator David Johnson

SB 41: revise the appropriation for the construction of a National Guard Readiness Center in Sioux Falls, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: General Jeff Marlette, Department of the Military Proponents: Justin Smith, Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce

MOTION: **AMEND SB 41**

41A

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls," insert " for the purchase and exchange of property between the state and the "

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls," insert "Sioux Falls Development Foundation"

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls," insert the comma

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$1,000,000" and insert "\$5,685,920" On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$15,000,000" and insert "\$16,291,974"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls" insert ", and to authorize and support activities related to the following property exchange:

(1) An approximately 32. 9"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls" insert "6"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls" insert "-acre parcel located on East Benson Road and North Sycamore Avenue in Sioux Falls that is currently owned by the state, with the following description: Tract 3 less the western most five (5) acres of said Tract, and all of Tract 4, Knabach Addition to the City of Sioux Falls, located in the SE1/4 of Section 35, T102N-R49W of the 5th P. M., City of Sioux Falls, Minnehaha County, South Dakota; and

(2) An approximately 38.8"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls" insert "8"

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls" insert "-acre parcel located on the future North Bahnson Avenue Road in Sioux Falls that is currently owned by the Sioux Falls Development Foundation, with the following description: Tract 3 (excepting Lot H-1),

East Benson Addition to the City of Sioux Falls; a portion of an unplatted parcel of land described as the Northwest 1/4 (Except H1, Lot H2, Lacey's Tract 2, Lacey's Addition, Lacey's 2nd Addition and Runge's Addition); and a portion of an unplatted parcel of land described as the West ½ of the Southwest 1/4 (excepting Lot H1, Lot H2 and Sioux Empire Development Park 8 Addition), all located in Section 35, Township 102 North, Range 49 West of the 5th P. M. City of Sioux Falls, Minnehaha Count, South Dakota"

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Stalzer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Page **1** of **2**

MOTION: REFER SB 41 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS AMENDED DO PASS

Moved by: Stalzer Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Unanimous Consent (5-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, David Johnson, V. J. Smith, Stalzer, and Zikmund

SB 48: make an appropriation for the redesign and renovation of the Wagner Readiness Center and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: General Jeff Marlette, Department of the Military

MOTION: REFER SB 48 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by Unanimous Consent (5-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, David Johnson, V. J. Smith, Stalzer, and Zikmund

SB 63: revise the appropriation for road improvements to the State Veterans Cemetery, to provide for ordinary operations of the cemetery, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Aaron Pollard, Department of Veterans Affairs
Proponents: Justin Smith, Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce

Connie Johnson, SD Veteran's Council, Sioux Falls

MOTION: REFER SB 63 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Stalzer Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Unanimous Consent (5-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, David Johnson, V. J. Smith, Stalzer, and Zikmund

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Peggy Laurenz, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID JOHNSON David Johnson, Chair