Committee: House Local Government Thursday, January 20, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Drury, Rep. Lana Greenfield, Rep. Hoffman,

Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Reed, Rep. Thomason,

Rep. Jamison, and Rep. York

Present (Remote): Rep. Olson and Rep. Weisgram

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative York

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 18TH

Moved by: Drury Second by: Hoffman

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1046: revise the disposal fee for large-scale solid waste disposal facilities operated by political subdivisions.

Presented by: Jim Wendte, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1046

Moved by: Reed

Second by: Chris Johnson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson,

Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1046 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1075: modify legal and official notice publication requirements.

Presented by: Representative Tim Reed

Proponents: David Bordewyk, South Dakota Newspaper Association, BROOKINGS

Justin G. Smith, South Dakota Newspaper Association, BROOKINGS

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Others: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1075

Moved by: Lana Greenfield Second by: Chris Johnson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson,

Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

HB 1076: permit certain municipalities to elect aldermen at large.

Presented by: Representative Charlie Hoffman

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1076

1076A

On page 1, line 4, of the Introduced bill, delete "two" and insert "three"

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson, Olson, Reed,

Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

Voting No: Lana Greenfield

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1076 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Reed Second by: Jamison

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Hoffman, Mortenson, Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison,

and York

Voting No: Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, and Chris Johnson

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson,

Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

Excused: Olson

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

House Local Government	Thursday, January 20, 2022 10:00 AM
	(())) () () () () () () () (
	/s/ NANCY YORK
	Nancy York, Chair