Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy Thursday, January 20, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Foster, Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Steinhauer, Sen. Tobin, Sen. Zikmund,

Sen. Wheeler, and Sen. Crabtree

Present (Remote): Sen. Stalzer

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 20TH

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 40: to establish safety standards regarding biogas gathering lines.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 40

SB 65: delineate uses for the South Dakota housing opportunity fund.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 65

SB 70: modify the amount of time to report an injury for workers'

compensation.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Kooper Caraway, South Dakota Federation of Labor, SIOUX FALLS

Julia Natvig, Sioux Falls, Self

BJ Motley, self

Mustafa Kalombo, Sioux Falls, Self

Opponents: Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Doug Abraham, American Property Casualty Insurance Association, Chicago

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Randy Moses, Independent Insurance Agents of SD, Ft Pierre

DAVID OWEN, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, PIERRE Lindsey Riter-Rapp, National Federation of Independent Business -

Indianapolis, Indianapolis

Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls

Jasper Diegel, SD Hotel & Lodging Association, Pierre Craig Matson, South Dakota Insurance Alliance, Sioux Falls

Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

DEFER SB 70 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY MOTION:

Steinhauer Moved by: Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0) Voting Yes: Novstrup, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Steinhauer, Tobin, Zikmund, Wheeler, and

Crabtree

Voting No: Foster

SB 76 : revise certain provisions regarding the minimum amount of a lottery prize that is subject to setoff.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler, District 22 (Handout(s) 2)

Proponents: William M Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Representative Mark Willadsen

Opponents: Alex Mayer, Department of Social Services

MOTION: DEFER SB 76 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Steinhauer

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Novstrup, Schoenbeck, Steinhauer, and Zikmund

Voting No: Foster, Stalzer, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

MOTION: DO PASS SB 76

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Foster, Stalzer, Tobin, Wheeler, and Crabtree

Voting No: Novstrup, Schoenbeck, Steinhauer, and Zikmund

SB 80 : exempt the provision of electricity through electric vehicle charging stations from the definition of electric utility.

Presented by: Senator Casey Crabtree

Proponents: Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre

Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum & Propane Marketers Association,

PIERRE

Representative Mark Willadsen

Myron L Rau, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, SIOUX FALLS

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Darla Pollman Rogers, South Dakota Rural Electric Association, Pierre Chris Hill, South Dakota Municipal Electric Association, Fort Pierre Deborah Birgen, Missouri River Energy Services, Sioux Falls

Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

MOTION: AMEND SB 80

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "public" insert " exclusively for electric vehicle charging"

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 80 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Steinhauer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Foster, Novstrup, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Steinhauer, Tobin, Zikmund, Wheeler,

and Crabtree

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 80 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Novstrup Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Peggy Laurenz, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE
Casey Crabtree, Chair