Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, January 20, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Blare, Rep. Chase, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Marty,

Rep. Overweg, Rep. York, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Wink,

Rep. Hoffman, and Rep. Ladner

Present (Remote): Rep. Finck

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 18TH

Moved by: Chase Second by: Lesmeister

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1035: to allow the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources to collect receipts from timber sales on federal lands and disburse those receipts according to federal law.

Presented by: Greg Josten, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Ben Wudtke, Black Hills Forest Resource Association, Rapid City

Others: Hunter Roberts, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1035

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Chase

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Goodwin, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider,

Vasgaard, Wink, Hoffman, and Ladner

HB 1039: provide for the assessment of certain agricultural land as noncropland.

Presented by: Representative Trish Ladner

Proponents: Ryan Taylor, Ducks Unlimited, Bismarck

Representative Steven Haugaard

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Senator Jessica Castleberry

Joel Thomas Rickenbach, Self, Oelirichs Bill Kluck, Self, Mud Butte (Handout(s) 1,2) Rick Fox, Self, Ramosa (Handout(s) 3)

Vaughn Meyer, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Representative Liz May Senator Julie Frye-Mueller Bill Paulson, Self, Edgemont Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

Opponents: David Wiest, Department of Revenue (Handout(s) 4)

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

DAVID OWEN, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, PIERRE

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, PIERRE

Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron (Handout(s) 5)

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1039

Moved by: Lesmeister Second by: Marty

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Goodwin, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider, Wink,

Hoffman, and Ladner

Voting No: Chase, Finck, and Vasgaard

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Marty

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair