Committee: Senate State Affairs Friday, January 21, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Rohl,

Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. Cammack

Excused: Sen. Duvall and Sen. Heinert

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 19<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SJR 501: to apply to Congress under Article V of the United States Constitution to call a convention for an amendment to the Constitution establishing congressional term limits.

Presented by: Senator Erin Tobin, District 21

Proponents: Aaron Dukette, US Term Limits, London, KY

Representative Greg Jamison, District 12

Opponents: Senator David Johnson, District 33

Linda Schauer, Concerned Women for America, ALEXANDRIA (Handout(s) 1)

Scott Granville, self, Pierre

Darrel Smith, South Dakota Family Policy Council, SIOUX FALLS (Handout(s)

2)

Michael Boyle, self, Parkston (Handout(s) 3)

Eldon Stahl, self Judy Caler, Self Leah Southwell, self

MOTION: DEFER SJR 501 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-2-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Diedrich, and Cammack

Voting No: Schoenfish and Rohl

Excused: Duvall and Heinert

SB 50: make an appropriation for water, wastewater and storm water projects throughout state government, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Scott W. Bollinger, Bureau of Administration (Handout(s) 4) Proponents: Andy Bruels, Deptartment of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre

MOTION:

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, McCook Lake

Chairman Cammack deferred final action on SB50 until a late date.

## SB 62: make an appropriation for eligible water, wastewater, storm water, and nonpoint source projects and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Hunter Roberts, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources (Handout(s) 5) Proponents: Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Julie M Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen Anna M. Hays, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Gregory Powell, Randall Community Water District, Lake Andes

Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre Justin G Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, BROOKINGS Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

**ADJOURN** 

Chairman Cammack deferred final action on SB65 until a late date.

Moved by:		
Second by:	Rohl	
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote	
	•	
Lorna Shell,	Committee Secretary	

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair