# JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE NINETY-SEVENTH SESSION

### SECOND DAY

## STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA House of Representatives, Pierre Wednesday, January 12, 2022

The House convened at 1:00 p.m., pursuant to adjournment, the Speaker presiding.

The prayer was offered by the Chaplain, Rev. Jake Krahn, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by House pages Fiala Herceg and Poppy Flaskey.

Roll Call: All members present except Rep. Perry who was excused.

#### **APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL**

MR. SPEAKER:

The Committee on Legislative Procedure respectfully reports that the Chief Clerk of the House has had under consideration the House Journal of the 1st day.

All errors, typographical or otherwise, are duly marked in the temporary journal for correction.

And we hereby move the adoption of the report.

Respectfully submitted, Spencer R. Gosch, Chair

Which motion prevailed.

- 1 The oath of office was administered by Speaker Gosch to the following named pages:
- 2 Poppy Flaskey, Fiala Herceg, Shiara Noyes, Griffin Petersen, Kathryn Rausch,
- 3 Annabell Stuwe, Sierra Stuwe, Ashlyne Utter, Maxwell Zickrick
- 4 Which was subscribed to and placed on file in the office of the Secretary of State.
- 5

#### **REPORTS OF JOINT-SELECT COMMITTEES**

6 MR. SPEAKER:

Your Joint-Select Committee appointed to make arrangements for a Memorial Service for
deceased former members of the South Dakota House of Representatives and Senate respectfully
reports that they recommend that the House of Representatives and Senate recess and convene in
the House Chamber at 3:00 p.m. on January 20, 2022, and that a Joint Memorial Resolution be
introduced in their memory by their colleagues in the House of Representatives and Senate.

12 A short program will follow the introduction of the Memorial Resolution. At the conclusion of 13 the Memorial Service, the Joint Session will be dissolved.

14 The Memorial Resolution shall be printed in the House and Senate Journals.

15 16	Respectfully submitted, Shawn Bordeaux	Respectfully submitted, Gary Cammack
		1
17	Jess Olson	Brock L. Greenfield
18	Lynn Schneider	Troy Heinert
19	Mike Stevens	Lee Schoenbeck
20	House Committee	Senate Committee

21

#### **MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE**

22 MR. SPEAKER:

I have the honor to inform your honorable body that the Senate has approved the adoption of the permanent joint rules of the Ninety-sixth Legislative Session with the recommended changes to those joint rules for the Ninety-seventh Legislative Session as adopted in March, 2021, as the temporary joint rules for the Ninety-seventh Legislative Session.

27 MR. SPEAKER:

I have the honor to inform your honorable body that the Senate has appointed Sens. Cammack, Greenfield, Schoenbeck, and Heinert as a committee of four on the part of the Senate to meet with a committee of four on the part of the House for the purpose of arranging for a memorial recognition of deceased former members of the House and Senate.

32

33

Descentfully

Respectfully, Kay Johnson, Secretary 1

5

#### MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

- Rep. Kent Peterson moved that when we adjourn today, we adjourn to convene at 1:00 p.m.
   on Thursday, January 13th, the 3<sup>rd</sup> legislative day.
- 4 Which motion prevailed.

#### FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS AND JOINT RESOLUTIONS

- 6 HB 1060: FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to repeal certain domestication provisions in the
   7 Uniform Limited Liability Company Act.
- 8 Introduced by: **Representative** Stevens
- 9 Was read the first time and referred to the Committee on Judiciary.
- 10 HB 1061: FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to codify an advisory committee for the appraisal 11 certification program.
- 12 Introduced by: **Representative** Duba
- **HB 1062**: FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to revise a provision regarding when a license is not required of a person installing electric wiring.
- 15 Introduced by: **Representative** Anderson
- 16 Were read the first time and referred to the Committee on Commerce and Energy.
- HB 1063: FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to revise the approval process for state employeehousehold moving allowances.
- 19 Introduced by: **Representative** Bartels
- 20 Was read the first time.
- The following bills were read on January 11, 2022, and today the Speaker assigned these bills to committees:
- HB 1035, 1039, 1048, 1049, and 1050 were referred to the Committee on Agriculture and
   Natural Resources.

# HB 1029, 1042, 1043, 1044, and 1059 were referred to the Committee on Commerce and Energy.

- 27 **HB 1016, 1017, and 1019** were referred to the House Committee on Appropriations.
- 28 HB 1015, 1040, and 1047 were referred to the Committee on Education.
- HB 1027, 1028, 1030, and 1054 were referred to the Committee on Health and Human
   Services.
- HB 1026, 1036, 1038, 1041, 1052, 1056, and 1057 were referred to the Committee on
   Judiciary.

1 **HB 1046** was referred to the Committee on Local Government.

HB 1005, 1009, 1025, 1033, 1055, and 1058, and HJR 5001 were referred to the
 Committee on State Affairs.

4 **HB 1045 and 1053** were referred to the Committee on Taxation.

5 Rep. Reimer moved that the House do now adjourn, which motion prevailed and at 1:14 p.m.6 the House adjourned.

7

Patricia Miller, Chief Clerk

8

#### JOINT SESSION

9 The Senate convened with the House of Representatives in the House Chamber for the purpose 10 of receiving a message from the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Steven R. Jensen. The President 11 of the Senate, Larry Rhoden, presided.

12 The opening prayer was delivered by Rev. Dallas Mckinley Jr., Pierre, South Dakota.

13 The Secretary of the Senate, Kay Johnson, called the roll of the Senate and the following 14 members were present:

Bolin; Breitling; Cammack; Castleberry; Crabtree; Curd; Diedrich; Duhamel; Duvall; Foster;
Frye-Mueller; Greenfield, Brock; Heinert; Hunhoff; Johns; Johnson, David; Klumb, Kolbeck; Maher;
Nesiba; Novstrup; Otten, Herman; Rohl; Rusch; Schoenbeck; Schoenfish; Smith, VJ; Stalzer;
Steinhauer; Sutton; Symens; Tobin; Wheeler; Wiik; Zikmund.

19 The Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives, Patricia Miller, called the roll of the House and 20 the following members were present:

Anderson; Aylward; Bartels; Barthel; Beal; Blare; Bordeaux; Chaffee; Chase; Cwach; Davis;
Dennert; Derby; Deutsch; Drury; Duba; Finck; Fitzgerald; Goodwin; Greenfield, Lana; Gross;
Hansen; Haugaard; Healy; Hoffman; Howard; Jamison; Jensen, Kevin; Jensen, Phil; Johnson, Chris;
Karr; Keintz; Koth; Ladner; Lesmeister; Marty; May; Mills; Milstead; Miskimins; Mortenson; Mulally;
Odenbach; Olson; Otten, Ernie; Overweg; Peterson, Kent; Peterson, Sue; Pischke; Pourier;
Randolph; Reed; Rehfeldt; Reimer; Schneider; Smith, Jamie; Soye; St. John; Stevens; Thomason;
Tidemann; Vasgaard; Weis; Weisgram; Wiese; Willadsen; Wink; York; Speaker Gosch.

28 Sen. Cammack moved that a committee of three on the part of the Senate and a committee of 29 five on the part of the House be appointed to escort Chief Justice Steven R. Jensen to the rostrum.

Which motion prevailed and the President announced as such committee Sens. Schoenbeck,
 Cammack, and Heinert on the part of the Senate and Reps. Hansen, Kent Peterson, Chris Johnson,
 Smith, and Lesmeister on the part of the House.

The Lieutenant Governor, Larry Rhoden, introduced the Honorable Steven R. Jensen, to deliverthe State of the Judiciary Address.

The Sergeant at Arms announced the arrival of Chief Justice Steven R. Jensen who was escorted to the rostrum.

- 37 Sen. Cammack moved that the Joint Session do now dissolve.
- 38 Which motion prevailed.