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An Act to establish the crime of hazing and to provide a penalty therefor. 

 

A prison/jail population cost estimate statement is required for SB72 because the bill would 

establish a new felony penalty for an act of hazing. 

 

Under the bill, a person commits hazing when, during a student's initiation or admission into 

any organization affiliated with a school, college, or university, a person engages in conduct 

involving forced activity that endangers a student physically or subjects the student to 

extreme mental stress. If the person engages in hazing maliciously and the student 

experiences serious bodily injury, the person is guilty of a Class 6 felony. To prove that a 

person acts with malicious intent, the person must "import a wish to intentionally vex, 

annoy, or injure another person, established either by proof or presumption of law." 

Maliciousness is the most culpable state of mind in South Dakota. Serious bodily injury is 

"such injury as is grave and not trivial, and gives rise to apprehension of danger to life, 

health, or limb." 

 

Surrounding states have similar provisions; however, the elements of the crime differ. In 

Nebraska, hazing requires an intentional or reckless state of mind, and bodily injury is not 

an element of the crime. In Iowa, the highest penalty for hazing is available when the 

person acts with an intentional or reckless state of mind and serious bodily injury results. In 

North Dakota, the highest penalty for hazing is available when the person acts willfully and 

physical injury results. Generally, an intentional, reckless, or willful state of mind represents 

a lower level of culpability than maliciousness, and physical injury is more minimal than 

serious bodily injury. The misdemeanor penalties under this bill would establish penalties for 

hazing involving these lower states of mind without the requirement to prove physical 

injury, serious or otherwise.  

 

In looking at the convictions in these surrounding states for hazing, 2009 was the most 

recent year Nebraska had any convictions for hazing. According to the Nebraska Crime 

Commission, there were six convictions that year in Douglas County, the county that 

includes Omaha, that appeared to be related to a single event. The last year North Dakota 

had a conviction for hazing that resulted in physical injury was 2002, with a single 

conviction that year. In the last ten years, Iowa has had two convictions for hazing resulting 

in serious bodily injury, one in 2014 and one in 2020.  

 

Thus, there is estimated to be approximately one Class 6 felony conviction every ten years 

under the bill. This conviction could result in a jail or penitentiary sentence. 

 

Currently, for Class 6 felonies, 21.6% of these sentences are carried out in jail facilities and 

26.1% in minimum security facilities.  

 

The average time served in prison for a violent Class 6 felony is currently 209.5 days. 

Individuals serving time for Class 6 felonies in minimum security facilities cost $52.53 per 
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day. The increased operating cost for prisons would be $0 in the first year and up to 

$11,005 every ten years if the individual convicted was sentenced to prison. 

 

The average time served in jail for these offenses is currently 168 days. With a jail facilities' 

cost of $96.30 per day, the increased operating cost in the first year would be $0 and up to 

$16,178 every ten years if the individual convicted was sentenced to jail. 
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