# **MINUTES**

# House Legislative Redistricting Committee

Representative Spencer Gosch, Chair Representative Kent Peterson, Vice Chair

Eighth Meeting, 2021 Interim Friday, October 29, 2021



Virtual/Room 362- State Capitol
Pierre, South Dakota

The eighth meeting of the House Legislative Redistricting Committee was called to order by Representative Spencer Gosch at 9:00 a.m. (CST). The committee met via teleconference.

A quorum was determined with the following members answering roll call: Representatives Drew Dennert, Mike Derby, Spencer Gosch (Chair), Jon Hansen, Liz May, Kent Peterson (Vice Chair), and Bethany Soye. Representative Ryan Cwach was excused.

Staff members present included Justin Goetz, Chief Research and Legal Analyst, Rachael Person, Administrative Specialist, Anna Madsen, Research Analyst, and Randy Stockwell, Network Administrator.

NOTE: For the purpose of continuity, the following minutes are not necessarily in chronological order. Also, all referenced documents distributed at the meeting are attached to the original minutes on file in the Legislative Research Council office. This meeting was webcast live. The archived webcast is available on the LRC website at sallegislature.gov.

## **Approval of Minutes**

Representative Hansen moved, seconded by Representative Peterson, to approve the minutes of the October 25, 2021 House Legislative Redistricting Committee meeting. The motion prevailed on a roll call vote with 7 voting AYE and 1 EXCUSED. Voting AYE: Dennert, Derby, Hansen, May, Soye, Peterson, and Gosch. EXCUSED: Cwach

### **Public Testimony**

**Mr. John Claussen, self, Sioux Falls,** asked the committee to consider his recommendations for eight legislative districts in Sioux Falls. Mr. Claussen said if Sioux Falls does not have eight legislative districts, the census numbers, and the growth of Sioux Falls over the next ten years will not be respected.

Mr. Bret Healy, Four Directions Native Vote, Chamberlain, cautioned the committee that adopting the Grouse 2.1 proposal (<u>Document 1</u>) would be a violation of the Voting Rights Act in District 26. Mr. Healy said adopting the proposal would bring the Native American voting age population down to 30%. Mr. Healy recommended the Hawk 1.0 proposal (<u>Document 2</u>), which he said stays within the boundaries of the Voting Rights Act. Mr. Healy also indicated that the tribes and tribal leaders want the district boundaries to remain as they are.

Representative Soye asked what percentage of Native voting population would be needed in District 26 in order for the voters to elect their representative of choice. Mr. Healy said the committee would need to have a professional analysis done to find what that percentage would be.

Representative Soye asked what percentage level would be considered packing. Mr. Healy said to find the level between 68% - 90% that would be considered packing would also need to be obtained through professional analysis.

#### Consideration of Amendments

Representative Hansen spoke on the Grouse 2.1 proposal (<u>Document 1</u>), and said it is the same map with the addition of single member districts drawn in Districts 26 and 28. Representative Hansen said District 28A would have one precinct from Perkins County to help remain within the +/- 5% population deviation with an almost 70% Native American voting age population and no split precinct. Representative Hansen added that District 26A would largely stay the same but would add tribal trust lands, resulting in a 65% Native American voting age population to allow them to select their preferred candidate of choice, and District 26B would encompass the counties of Buffalo, Brule, and Lyman, and everything north and east of Winner.

Representative Hansen moved, seconded by Representative Soye, to adopt the Grouse 2.1 map. The motion prevailed on a roll call vote with 6 voting AYE, 1 voting NAY, and 1 EXCUSED. Voting AYE: Dennert, Hansen, May, Soye, Peterson, and Gosch. Voting NAY: Derby. EXCUSED: Cwach.

# **Adjournment**

Representative Hansen moved, seconded by Representative Peterson, that the House Legislative Redistricting Committee be adjourned. The motion prevailed on a roll call vote with 7 voting AYE and 1 EXCUSED. Voting AYE: Dennert, Derby, Hansen, May, Soye, Peterson, and Gosch. EXCUSED: Cwach.

The committee adjourned at 9:27 a.m.

## **Approval of Minutes**

The Committee approved the minutes on November 8, 2021.

Representative Peterson moved, seconded by Representative Soye, to approve the minutes from the October 29, 2021 House Legislative Redistricting Committee meeting. The motion prevailed on a roll call vote with 7 voting AYE and 1 EXCUSED. Voting AYE: Cwach, Dennert, Hansen, Soye, Peterson, and Gosch. EXCUSED: May.