South Dakota Legislature



Senate Commemoration 811

Introduced by: Senator Herman Otten and Representatives Ernie Otten and Aylward

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, To honor and commend the 2020 Tea Area Titans High School football team as champions of the Class 11A state football championship.

WHEREAS, the Titans were led by Head Coach Craig Clayberg and by seniors Austin Lake, Luke Rettedal, Conner Mulder, Braden Breach, Trevor Welch, Kaden Johnson, Garrett Kolbeck, Michael Wallin, Caden Ellingson, Ian Bennett, and Cayden Reiniger; and

WHEREAS, the season looked different with new regulations due to Covid-19, but the Titans concluded the season undefeated; and

WHEREAS, a cancelled first play-off game due to Covid-19 did not shake the Titans as the team went on to win all of their playoff games, including the 11A state championship game, with a 35-16 victory over the Canton C-Hawks; and

WHEREAS, Senior Austin Lake was honored with the Joe Robbie Most Valuable Player Award in the championship game:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature honors and commends the 2020 Tea Area Titans football team and Head Coach Craig Clayberg, for their achievement of winning the Class 11A state football championship.