Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, March 04, 2021 9:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Cammack, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Frye-Mueller, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb,

Sen. Herman Otten, and Sen. V. J. Smith

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, MARCH 02<sup>ND</sup>

Moved by: Cammack Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1155: remove certain restrictions on gifts of agricultural land.

Presented by: Representative Will Mortenson

Proponents: Brett Koenecke, South Dakota Community Foundation, Pierre

Julie Johnson, Attorney, SD Nonprofit Network, Aberdeen ,South Dakota

Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Lorin D Pankratz, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1155

Moved by: Cammack Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Excused: Duvall, Frye-Mueller, and Heinert

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1155 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1138 : revise provisions regarding the issuance of state park camping

permits.

Presented by: Representative Taffy Howard
Proponents: Representative Marli Wiese
Representative Rhonda Milstead

Representative Rhonda Milstead Alan Temple, self, Rapid City

Chris Hesla, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

Opponents: Scott Simpson, Department of Game, Fish and Parks (Handout(s) 1)

Lorin D Pankratz, Visitor Industry Alliance, Pierre

**MOTION: DO PASS HB 1138** 

Moved by: Frye-Mueller Second by: Herman Otten

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Frye-Mueller and Herman Otten

Voting No: Cammack, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

Excused: Duvall and Heinert

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1138 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (3-2-2-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Frye-Mueller and Herman Otten

Excused: Duvall and Heinert

HB 1047: provide limited deer and antelope licenses to landowners.

Presented by: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

(Handout(s) 1)

Dorn Severtson, self, Cologne, MN

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1047

Moved by: Cammack Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Heinert and Herman Otten

Excused: Frye-Mueller

HCR 6006: Urging efforts to increase competition and transparency among livestock packers.

Presented by: Representative Liz May

Proponents: James Halverson, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Bryan Hanson, South Dakota Livestock Auction Markets Association, Fort

Pierre

Brett Kenzy, Self, Gregory

Kenny Fox, Self, Belvidere, South Dakota (Handout(s) 1)

Representative Marty Overweg Vaughn Meyer, self, Reva

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Opponents: Brenda Forman, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre (Handout(s) 1)

Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Others: Lorin D Pankratz, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

**MOTION: DO PASS HCR 6006** 

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Frye-Mueller

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Duvall and Klumb

HCR 6007: To provide for an interim study regarding foreign ownership of

agricultural land.

Presented by: Representative Tina Mulally

**MOTION:** DEFER HCR 6007 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HCR 6007

Moved by: Frye-Mueller

Action: Died for lack of a second

## **Revert to previous motion**

**MOTION:** DEFER HCR 6007 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Frye-Mueller and Heinert

**MOTION:** RECONSIDER HB 1138

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1138 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Was not acted on.

**MOTION:** SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1138

Moved by: Frye-Mueller Second by: Herman Otten

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Frye-Mueller, Heinert, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Cammack, Duvall, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

## **Revert to previous motion**

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1138 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Frye-Mueller, Heinert, and Herman Otten

SRD 901: Proposing to disapprove Executive Order 2021-03 as set forth on pages 52 to 64, inclusive, of the Senate Journal.

Presented by: Senator Troy Heinert Proponents: Doug Sombke, self, Groton

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

Pierre

John Simpson, self, Pierre

Chris Hesla, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

Travis Entenman, self, Sioux Falls

Nancy Hilding, Prairie Hills Audubon Society of Eastern SD, BLACK HAWK

Ailee Johns, Sierra Club, Vermillion

Rebecca Terk, Dakota Rural Action, Rapid City

Opponents: Lieutenant Governor Larry Rhoden

Hunter Roberts, Interim Secretary, Department of Agriculture Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Kathy Zander, South Dakota Agri-Business Association, Pierre, South Dakota

Pat Trask, self, Meade County, South Dakota

**MOTION:** DEFER SRD 901 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Was not acted on.

**MOTION:** SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS SRD 901

Moved by: Heinert

Second by: Herman Otten

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Cammack, Duvall, and Klumb

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Duvall Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Hannah Weinheimer, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOSHUA KLUMB Joshua Klumb, Vice-Chair