Committee: House Taxation Tuesday, February 23, 2021 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Derby, Rep. Drury, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Koth, Rep. Olson,

Rep. Ernie Otten, Rep. Pourier, Rep. Randolph, Rep. Thomason,

Rep. Tidemann, Rep. Pischke, and Rep. Dennert

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Dennert

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 18TH

Moved by: Koth Second by: Chaffee

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1252: exempt individuals who make purchases outside of South Dakota

from use tax.

Presented by: Representative Steven Haugaard

TO TABLE HB 1252 MOTION:

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Randolph,

Thomason, Tidemann, and Dennert

Voting No: **Pischke**

Excused: Pourier

HB 1155: remove certain restrictions on gifts of agricultural land.

Presented by: Representative Will Mortenson

Proponents: Brett Koenecke, South Dakota Community Foundation, Pierre, South Dakota

> Stephanie Judd, South Dakota Community Foundation, Pierre, South Dakota Julie Johnson, Attorney, SD Nonprofit Network, Aberdeen ,South Dakota

DO PASS HB 1155 MOTION:

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Pourier, Randolph,

Thomason, Tidemann, Pischke, and Dennert

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1155 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1231: authorize, regulate, and tax wagering on sporting events within the city limits of Deadwood and provide a penalty for a violation thereof.

Presented by: Representative Tom Pischke

Proponents: Garrett Gross, President of Dakota Gaming Group, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

(Handout(s) 1)

Opponents: David Wiest, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Revenue (Handout(s) 2)

MOTION: DEFER HB 1231 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Ernie Otten

Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Pourier, Thomason,

Tidemann, and Dennert

Voting No: Pischke

Excused: Randolph

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Pourier

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Nancy Bugay, Committee Secretary

/s/ DREW DENNERT Drew Dennert, Chair