Committee: Senate State Affairs Wednesday, February 24, 2021 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Bolin, Sen. Schoenfish,

Sen. Rohl, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 22ND

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

GENE P. KEAN OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD

Presented by: John Coleman, Governor's Office

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT

OF GENE P. KEAN OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH

DAKOTA, TO THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD

Moved by: Heinert Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF GENE P. KEAN OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 118: enhance South Dakota.

MOTION: DO PASS SB 118

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

SB 119: accommodate legislation on medical services.

MOTION: DO PASS SB 119

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

SB 120: accommodate legislation relating to education in South Dakota.

MOTION: DO PASS SB 120

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

SB 121: accommodate legislation relating to the protection of public safety.

MOTION: DO PASS SB 121

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Diedrich, and

Cammack

Voting No: Heinert

SB 155: appropriate funds to support revolving funds for workforce housing and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Mike Diedrich

MOTION: AMEND SB 155

155D

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, after "for " insert "multi-family " On page 1, after line 3, of the Introduced bill, insert "

Section 1. There is hereby appropriated from the general fund the sum of \$40,000,000, to

the Governor's Office of Economic Development to be used for multi-family workforce housing projects for counties with a population of one hundred

thousand or less.

On page 1, line 4, of the Introduced bill, delete " \$5,000,000" and insert " \$10,000,000"

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete "South Dakota Housing Development Authority " and insert "Governor's Office of Economic Development "

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "for " insert "multi-family "

On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, delete " the Sioux Falls and Rapid City areas" and insert "
Minnehaha County"

On page 1, after line 7, of the Introduced bill, insert "

Section 3. There is hereby appropriated from the general fund the sum of \$10,000,000, to the Governor's Office of Economic Development to be used for grants for the purpose of providing low-interest, revolving loans for developers and property owners for multi-family workforce housing projects in Pennington County.

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, delete "executive director of the South Dakota Housing

Development Authority " and insert "commissioner of the Governor's Office of

Economic Development "

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 155: appropriate funds to support revolving funds for workforce housing and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Mike Diedrich

Proponents: David Lust, self, Rapid City (Handout(s) 1)

Jeff Eckhoff, self, Sioux Falls Steve Allender, self, Rapid City Eric Braun, self, Rapid City

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Julie M Johnson, Homes for South Dakota, Sisseton

Julie M Johnson, SD Society of Human Resource Managers, Watertown

Julie M Johnson, Homes Are Possible Inc, Aberdeen

Sam J Nelson, Economic Development Professional's Association

Kevin Kouba, Otter Tail Power Company, Milbank

Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Matt Krogman, Brookings Area Chamber of Commerce, Brookings

Pamela A Bonrud, NorthWestern Energy, Sioux Falls

Anna Hayes, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre

MOTION: REFER SB 155 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS

AMENDED DO PASS

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

SJR 502: To apply for a convention of states under Article V of the Constitution of the United States to impose fiscal restraints on the federal government, to limit the power and jurisdiction of the federal government, and to limit the terms of office for federal officials and members of Congress.

Presented by: Senator Blake Curd

Proponents: Mark Meckler, Convention of States, Austin, Texas

Shirlee Meier, self, Sioux Falls Harvey Fitzgerald, self, Buffalo Gap

Opponents: Senator David Johnson (Handout(s) 1,2)

Joanna Martin, self

Linda Schauer, Concerned Women for America, Alexandria

Michael Boyle, self, Parkston Scott Grandville, self, Pierre VJ Smith, self, Brookings

MOTION: DEFER SJR 502 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS SJR 502

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Schoenfish

Action: Failed by roll call vote (4-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Schoenfish, Heinert, and Cammack

Voting No: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Rohl, and Diedrich

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER SJR 502 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (5-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Rohl, and Diedrich

Voting No: Bolin, Schoenfish, Heinert, and Cammack

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lorna Shell, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK
Gary L. Cammack, Chair