Committee: Senate Transportation Wednesday, February 17, 2021 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Castleberry, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Zikmund,

Sen. Crabtree, and Sen. Symens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Duvall

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 10TH

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 165: authorize the disclosure of certain expenditures for safety and

security.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Neisba (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: David Bordewyk, South Dakota Newspaper Association

Tim L. Waltner, self, Freeman

Opponents: Craig Price, Department of Public Safety

David Gilbertson, Unified Judicial System

MOTION: DO PASS SB 165

Moved by: Heinert

Action: Died for lack of a second

MOTION: DEFER SB 165 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Castleberry Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Duvall, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Crabtree, and Symens

Voting No: Heinert

HB 1053: establish an annual fee for certain electric motor vehicles.

Presented by: Senator Mary Duvall

Proponents: Representative Mark Willadsen (Handout(s) 1)

Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre David Owens, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce, Pierre, South Dakota

Myron Rau, Auto Dealers Association of South Dakota

Anna M. Hays, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Justin Smith, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce Terra Fisher-Larson, Harms Oil Company, Brookings **MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1053

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Duvall, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Crabtree, and Symens

Voting No: Heinert

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Symens Second by: Heinert

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Hannah Weinheimer, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARY DUVALL Mary Duvall, Chair