Committee: House Health and Human Services Thursday, February 11, 2021 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Healy, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. Phil Jensen,

Rep. Miskimins, Rep. Perry, Rep. Weis, Rep. Wiese, Rep. Davis, Rep. Rehfeldt,

and Rep. Keintz

Present (Remote): Rep. Aylward

Excused: Rep. St. John

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Kevin Jensen

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 09<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Kevin Jensen

Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1139 UNTIL TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 16<sup>TH</sup> 2021

## HB 1148: establish provisions regarding dementia.

Presented by: Representative Linda Duba (Handout(s) 1)

**MOTION:** TO TABLE HB 1148

Moved by: Healy Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Deutsch, Healy, Kevin Jensen, Phil Jensen, Miskimins, Perry, Weis, Wiese,

Davis, Avlward, Rehfeldt, and Keintz

Excused: St. John

## HB 1159: prohibit interference with the right to bodily integrity in contagious disease control.

Presented by: Representative Phil Jensen

Proponents: Sonja Van Erdewyk, self, Mitchell (Handout(s) 2)

Jesse Hamm, self, Rapid City Stacia Buchholtz, self, Elk Point

Sara Munneke, self, Corsica (Handout(s) 3,4,5)

Dr. Josh Biberdorf, self, Rapid City Heather Meyers, self, Arizona Rhonda Nelson, self, Colman Sarah Meyer, self, Trent

Opponents: Lynne Valenti, Department of Health (Handout(s) 6)

Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls Justin Smith, Wellmark Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Justin Smith, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Association of Specialty Care Providers, Rapid

City

Doug Abraham, self, Pierre

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota

Mitchell Rave, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls

Others: Mya Olson, self, Bradley

MOTION: DEFER HB 1159 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Rehfeldt Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Deutsch, Healy, Kevin Jensen, Miskimins, Perry, Wiese, Davis, Rehfeldt, and

Keintz

Voting No: Phil Jensen, Weis, and Aylward

Excused: St. John

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Wiese

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ KEVIN D. JENSEN Kevin D. Jensen, Chair