Committee: House State Affairs Monday, February 08, 2021 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Beal, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Gosch,

Rep. Hansen, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. Kent Peterson,

Rep. Reimer, Rep. Jamie Smith, and Rep. Wiese

Excused: Rep. Lesmeister

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Kent Peterson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 05TH

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 58: remove an outdated cross-reference to the risk pool.

Presented by: Mallori Barnett, Bureau of Human Resources

MOTION: DO PASS SB 58

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Chris

Johnson, Kent Peterson, Reimer, Jamie Smith, and Wiese

Excused: Lesmeister

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 58 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 61: revise a cross reference regarding the South Dakota Housing Development Authority's investment agreement.

Presented by: Lorraine Polak, Housing Development Authority

MOTION: DO PASS SB 61

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Chris

Johnson, Kent Peterson, Reimer, Jamie Smith, and Wiese

Excused: Lesmeister

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 61 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1124: modify certain requirements concerning the printing of ballots.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert

Opponents: Kea Warne, Office of Secretary of State

Roger Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre

Others: Jason Lutz, Deputy Secretary of State

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1124

Moved by: Kevin Jensen

Second by: Gosch

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: AMEND HB 1124

1124A

On page 1, line 15, of the Introduced bill, after "printed" delete " no earlier than sixty days prior to a

primary or general election"

On page 1, line 17, of the Introduced bill, after "election." insert "However, if there is a valid

challenge to the election, those ballots may not be printed earlier than sixty days prior

to a primary or general election. "

Moved by: Anderson Second by: Gosch

Action: Was not acted on.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1124

HB 1125: define adjournment for the counting of ballots.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert

Proponents: Senator Jack Kolbeck

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1125

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1125 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Jamie Smith Second by: Anderson

Action: Failed by roll call vote (2-10-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson and Jamie Smith

Voting No: Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Chris Johnson, Kent

Peterson, Reimer, and Wiese

Excused: Lesmeister

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1125

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Chris

Johnson, Kent Peterson, Reimer, and Wiese

Voting No: Jamie Smith

Excused: Lesmeister

HB 1126: revise certain provisions regarding absentee ballots.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert

Proponents: Representative Liz May

Opponents: Steve Barnett, Secretary of State

Roger Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre Jennifer Stalley, American Association of Retired Persons, Sioux Falls

Others: Jason Lutz, Deputy Secretary of State

MOTION: AMEND HB 1126

1126A

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, delete ":

(1) An absentee ballot unless the voter has complied with §§ 12-19-2 or 12-19-2. 1; or

(2) An" and insert " an"

Moved by: Chris Johnson

Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1126 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Chris Johnson Second by: Kevin Jensen

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Chris Johnson,

Reimer, and Wiese

Voting No: Anderson, Kent Peterson, and Jamie Smith

Excused: Lesmeister

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ KENT PETERSON Kent Peterson, Chair