Committee: House Taxation Tuesday, February 09, 2021 8:30 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Derby, Rep. Drury, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Koth, Rep. Olson,

Rep. Ernie Otten, Rep. Pourier, Rep. Randolph, Rep. Thomason,

Rep. Tidemann, Rep. Pischke, and Rep. Dennert

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Dennert

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 02ND

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Randolph

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1200: modify the contractor's excise tax rate on the new construction of certain residential dwellings.

Presented by: Representative John Mills (Handout(s) #1)

Opponents: Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre

Alison Jares, Deputy Director Business Tax, Department of Revenue, Pierre,

South Dakota

David Owens, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce, Pierre, South Dakota

Brian Burge, self, Beresford

Julie M Johnson, Homes Are Possible Inc, Aberdeen

Matt Krogman, South Dakota Association of Realtors, Pierre, South Dakota

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1200

Moved by: Ernie Otten Second by: Olson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Pourier, Randolph,

Thomason, Tidemann, and Dennert

Excused: Pischke

MOTION: FISCAL NOTE REQUEST ON HB 1231 AND 1230

HB 1235 : provide for the platting of certain land without infrastructure

requirements.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin

Proponents: Bill Freitag, self, Aberdeen, South Dakota

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1235

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Pourier, Randolph,

Thomason, Tidemann, Pischke, and Dennert

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1235 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Nancy Bugay, Committee Secretary

/s/ DREW DENNERT Drew Dennert, Chair