Committee: Joint Committee on Appropriations Thursday, February 11, 2021 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Duba, Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Mills, Rep. May, Rep. Gross,

Rep. Haugaard, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Wiik, Sen. Maher, Sen. Brock Greenfield, Sen. Kolbeck, Sen. Sutton, Sen. David Johnson, Rep. Howard, Sen. Breitling,

and Sen. Hunhoff

Present (Remote): Rep. Karr

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 10TH

Moved by: Duba Second by: Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 84 : appropriate funds to support Veterans Memorial Centers in South Dakota and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Al Novstrup

Proponents: Tom Croymans, retired Brigadier General, Aberdeen Area Veteran's Inc.,

Aberdeen

Julie M Johnson, Aberdeen Area Veterans Inc., Aberdeen

Opponents: Hallie Getz, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND SB 84

84A

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "Memorial" delete "Centers in" On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "in "insert "Center in Aberdeen, "

Moved by: Maher Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 28: authorize the Board of Regents to contract for the redesign and renovation of, and the design and construction of an addition to, the Sanford Jackrabbit Athletic Complex on the campus of South Dakota State University, together with equipment and furnishings, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Brian Maher, Board of Regents

Proponents: Justin Sell, Director of Athletics, SDSU, Brookings

Heather Forney, Board of Regents

SB 64: revise the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2021.

Presented by: Jason Ravnsborg, Attorney General of South Dakota

Jeffery Clines, Commissioner, Bureau of Information and Telecommunications

Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

Kristi Cammack, South Dakota State University, Rapid City

Proponents: Jason Husby, Department of Public Safety

Chad Mosteller, Department of Public Safety

Jeff Pierce, Bureau of Info and Tele

Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota

Recess: 12:25 PM Reconvene: 2:18 PM

MOTION: to adopt the FY21 on-going revenue projection of \$1,860,605,999

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (17-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Fitzgerald, Mulally, Mills, May, Gross, Haugaard, Nesiba, Wiik, Maher,

Brock Greenfield, Kolbeck, Sutton, Howard, Breitling, Karr, and Hunhoff

Excused: David Johnson

MOTION: to adopt the FY22 on-going revenue projection of \$1,834,033,439

Moved by: Gross Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (14-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Duba, Fitzgerald, Mulally, Mills, May, Gross, Haugaard, Nesiba, Maher, Brock

Greenfield, Howard, Breitling, Karr, and Hunhoff

Voting No: Wiik, Kolbeck, and Sutton

Excused: David Johnson

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Howard Second by: Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Stewart, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF /s/ CHRIS KARR
Jean Hunhoff, Co-Chair Chris Karr, Co-Chair