Committee: House Commerce and Energy Friday, February 05, 2021 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Bartels, Rep. Bordeaux, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Perry,

Rep. Reed, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Weis, Rep. Weisgram,

Rep. Willadsen, Rep. Beal, and Rep. Milstead

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Milstead

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 03RD

Moved by: Perry Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1065: adopt the emergency medical personnel licensure interstate compact.

Presented by: Eric Van Dusen, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association

Proponents: Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Assoc., Sioux

Falls

Melissa Kleman, Governor's Office

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1065

Moved by: Reed Second by: Weis

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Bordeaux, Ladner, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard, Weis,

Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead

Excused: Bartels

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1065 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 22 : correct a technical error concerning a cross-reference regarding a certain energy conservation program.

Presented by: Travis Dovre, Gov's Office of Econ Dev

MOTION: DO PASS SB 22

Moved by: Perry Second by: Bordeaux

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Bartels, Bordeaux, Ladner, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 22 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1063: make an appropriation to contract for mental health insurance for certain first responder organizations and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Ryan Cwach

Proponents: Brad Wilson, Insurance Benefits, Inc.

Eric Van Dusen, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Assoc., Sioux

Falls

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Richard Tieszen, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka

Randy Moses, Independent Insurance Agents of South Dakota, FORT PIERRE

Julie Webster, Fire Chaplains Association, self, Rapid City

Jerome Harvey, Pennington County Fire Department, self, Rapid City

Bob McIntyre, Provident, Rapid City (Handout(s) 1) Trevor Lightfield, Fischer Rounds & Associates, Pierre

Charlie Kludt, SD Firefighters Association

Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management Opponents:

MOTION: AMEND HB 1063

1063A

On page 1, line 4, of the Introduced bill, delete "Department of Public Safety " and insert "South Dakota Firefighters' Association, Incorporated, "

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, delete "department" and insert "association"

On page 1, line 17, of the Introduced bill, delete "Department of Public Safety " and insert "South Dakota Firefighters' Association, Incorporated, "

On page 1, line 18, of the Introduced bill, delete "secretary of the Department of Public Safety " and

insert "president of the South Dakota Firefighters' Association, Incorporated, "

Moved by: Reed Second by: Bordeaux

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

REFER HB 1063 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS MOTION:

AMENDED

Moved by: Reed Second by: Beal

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: REFER HB 1063 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON

APPROPRIATIONS AS AMENDED DO PASS

Moved by: Perry Second by: Bordeaux

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Bartels, Bordeaux, Ladner, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Perry Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ RHONDA MILSTEAD Rhonda Milstead, Chair