Committee: Senate Local Government Wednesday, February 03, 2021 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bolin, Sen. Cammack, Sen. Diedrich, Sen. Klumb, and Sen. Herman

Otten

Present (Remote): Sen. Foster Excused: Sen. Frye-Mueller

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Herman Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 27TH

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 138: provide flexibility for certain municipal budget provisions.

Presented by: Senator Kyle Schoenfish

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre, South Dakota

MOTION: DO PASS SB 138

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Cammack, Diedrich, Foster, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Excused: Frye-Mueller

SB 134: limit the required application of green building standards.

Presented by: Ryan Maher, Senator (Handout(s) 1) Proponents: Heather Forney, Board of Regents

Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre

Opponents: Justin G. Smith, AIA South Dakota, Sioux Falls

Rick Bell, self, Rapid City, South Dakota

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 134 UNTIL FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 05TH 2021

SB 142: modify the meeting place and notice requirements for county commission meetings.

Presented by: Helene Duhamel, Senator

Proponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Jay Alderman, self, Rapid City, South Dakota

MOTION: AMEND SB 142

142A

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, after "sessions" insert ", as open meetings in accordance with chapter 1-25,"

On page 1, line 20, of the Introduced bill, after "25-1.1." delete "Section 2. That § 7-8-16 be AMENDED.

On page 1, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "AMENDED." delete "7-8-16."

On page 1, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "7-8-16. " delete "Open meetings--County commission--Location."

On page 1, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "commission--Location." delete "

The board of county commissioners shall hold its sessions as an open meeting and transact all

business in a public manner in accordance with chapter 1-25. Meetings shall normally be held at the court house or at the usual place of holding court; however the board may occasionally hold its sessions at any other suitable place at the county seat or at other locations within the geographic county area if the meetings are held in a public place and if notice of the meeting is published once a week for at least two successive weeks before the meeting in the legal newspaper or newspapers of the county in which the meeting is to be held location in the county. Joint county-municipal planning sessions may be held at any suitable location within the county. All matters pertaining to the interests of the county shall be heard by the board in session only, but it may continue any business from any regular session to an intermediate day."

On page 2, after line 8, of the Introduced bill, insert "

Section 2. That § 7-8-16 be REPEALED.

7-8-16. Open meetings--Location and notice requirements--Joint county-municipal planning sessions--Continuances.

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 142 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Cammack, Diedrich, Foster, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Excused: Frye-Mueller

SB 150: clarify the penalty for using fireworks in violation of a county

resolution.

Presented by: Senator Jessica Castleberry

Proponents: Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Jay Alderman, self, Rapid City, South Dakota

MOTION: DO PASS SB 150

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Bolin

Page **2** of **3**

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Cammack, Diedrich, Foster, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Excused: Frye-Mueller

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 150 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair