Committee: House Local Government Thursday, February 04, 2021 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Drury, Rep. Lana Greenfield, Rep. Hoffman,

Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Olson, Rep. Reed, Rep. Thomason,

Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Jamison, and Rep. York

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative York

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 02ND

Moved by: Lana Greenfield

Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1120

HB 1117: revise provisions for public meetings held by teleconference.

Presented by: Representative Tim Reed

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Lorin Pankratz, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners

Opponents: David Bordewyk, South Dakota Newspaper Association, BROOKINGS

MOTION: DEFER HB 1117 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Chris Johnson

Second by: Olson

Action: Failed by roll call vote (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Drury, Lana Greenfield, Chris Johnson, Mortenson, Olson, and York

Voting No: Barthel, Cwach, Hoffman, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, and Jamison

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1117

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Hoffman, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, and Jamison

Voting No: Drury, Lana Greenfield, Chris Johnson, Mortenson, Olson, and York

HB 1119: revise certain references to secondary elections.

Presented by: Representative Mike Weisgram

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1119

Moved by: Olson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson,

Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1119 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1127: revise certain provisions regarding official meetings conducted by teleconference.

Presented by: Representative Tim Reed

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Lorin D Pankratz, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, PIERRE

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1127

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Mortenson, Olson, Reed,

Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

Voting No: Chris Johnson

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Olson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ NANCY YORK Nancy York, Chair