Committee: Senate State Affairs Monday, February 01, 2021 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Bolin, Sen. Schoenfish,

Sen. Rohl, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 27TH

Moved by: Heinert Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

NOTE: Senator Cammack stated SJR501 would be heard Monday, February 8, 2021;

however, any testimony from parties present today would be heard.

SB 112: establish requirements for filling the vacancies of certain constitutional offices.

Presented by: Senator Arthur Rusch (Handout(s) 1) Opponents: Tony Venhuizen, Governor's Office

MOTION: DO PASS SB 112

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Heinert

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 77 UNTIL WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 03RD 2021

SJR 501: Rescinding a House Joint Resolution calling for a constitutional convention for the sole purpose of changing the Constitution of the United States.

Proponents: Leah Southwell, self

Opponents: Mark Meckler, Convention of States Action, Austin, Texas

Harvey Fitzgerald, self, Buffalo Gap

Mike Weiler, self, Rapid City John James, self, Rapid City Deanna Becket, self, Summerset

Patrick Baumann, self, Custer, South Dakota Robin Wilkins, self, Belle Fourche, South Dakota Eric Beals, self, Belle Fourche, South Dakota Gerald Kallis, self Custer, South Dakota

Chris Becket, Self, Summerset

Dawn Laskowski, self, Belle Fourche, South Dakota

Derek Besler, self, Whitewood, South Dakota Stacy Nettriga, self, Mitchell, South Dakota Kathy Wendt, self, Warner, South Dakota Pamela Bay Briolr, self, Sioux Falls, South Dakota Nina Seppanon, self, Vienna, South Dakota Paul Bulman, self, Sioux Falls, South Dakota Shirlee Meier, self, Sioux Falls Bill Laskowski, Self, Belle Fourche

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lorna Shell, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair