Committee: House Education Wednesday, January 27, 2021 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bartels, Rep. Davis, Rep. Dennert, Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Healy, Rep. Phil

Jensen, Rep. Keintz, Rep. Marty, Rep. Miskimins, Rep. Mortenson,

Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Soye, Rep. Stevens, Rep. Sue Peterson, and Rep. Lana

Greenfield

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Lana Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Dennert

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1044: transfer the Office of Indian Education to the Department of

Education.

Presented by: Representative Shawn Bordeaux

Proponents: Sarah Pierce, Self

Opponents: David Flute, Department of Tribal Relations

Laura Scheibe, Department of Education

MOTION: DEFER HB 1044 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Dennert Second by: Bartels

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Deutsch, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach,

Soye, Stevens, Sue Peterson, and Lana Greenfield

Voting No: Healy, Phil Jensen, and Keintz

HB 1082: revise certain state aid to education definitions for the 2021-2022

school year.

Presented by: Shannon Malone, Department of Education

Proponents: Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota

Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota Loren M Paul, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1082

Moved by: Bartels Second by: Healy

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Deutsch, Healy, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty,

Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach, Soye, Stevens, Sue Peterson, and Lana

Greenfield

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1082 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1083: grant authority to the secretary of education to waive accountability requirements in certain situations.

Presented by: Shannon Malone, Department of Education

Proponents: Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota

Loren M Paul, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1083

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Miskimins

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Deutsch, Healy, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty,

Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach, Soye, Stevens, Sue Peterson, and Lana

Greenfield

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Sue Peterson

Second by: Sove

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Trista Olsen, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA GREENFIELD Lana Greenfield, Chair