Committee: House Education

Roll Call

Present:	Rep. Bartels, Rep. Davis, Rep. Dennert, Rep. Healy, Rep. Phil Jensen,
	Rep. Keintz, Rep. Marty, Rep. Miskimins, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Odenbach,
	Rep. Soye, Rep. Stevens, Rep. Sue Peterson, and Rep. Lana Greenfield
Excused:	Rep. Deutsch

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Lana Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 22ND

Moved by:Phil JensenSecond by:HealyAction:Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1025 : delete or revise certain outdated language relating to education.

Presented by: Amanda LaCroix, Department of Education

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1025

Moved by:	Bartels
Second by:	Miskimins
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Healy, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach, Soye, Stevens, Sue Peterson, and Lana Greenfield

Excused: Deutsch

MOTION: PLACE HB 1025 ON CONSENT CALENDAR

Moved by:	Healy
Second by:	Phil Jensen
Action:	Was not acted on

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1025 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 46 : allow for the consideration of certain instruction to count towards the minimum number of hours required in a school term during a declared state of emergency.

Presented by: Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

Proponents: Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, PIERRE Loren M Paul, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 46

Moved by:	Phil Jensen
Second by:	Bartels
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Healy, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach, Soye, Stevens, Sue Peterson, and Lana Greenfield

Excused: Deutsch

HB 1056 : authorize the designation of Purple Star schools.

Presented by: Representative Fred Deutsch Proponents: Pete LuPida, Ohio MIC3 Commissioner

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1056

- Moved by: Sue Peterson
- Second by: Phil Jensen
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-6-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Dennert, Deutsch, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty, Odenbach, Soye, and Sue Peterson
- Voting No: Davis, Healy, Miskimins, Mortenson, Stevens, and Lana Greenfield

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Phil Jensen
Second by:	Mortenson
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Trista Olsen, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA GREENFIELD Lana Greenfield, Chair