Committee: Senate State Affairs

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Bolin, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 20TH

Moved by:DiedrichSecond by:DuhamelAction:Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 18 UNTIL WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 17TH 2021

SB 24 : allow a change of voter registration information through an online system provided by the Office of the Secretary of State.

Presented by: Steve Barnett, Secretary of State Proponents: Brian Burge, Self, Beresford Cante Heart, Self, Rapid City Robert Tobin, self (Handout(s) 1) Ross B Garelick, self Eric J Nelson, American Association of Retired Persons Addison S Miller, Self Koni Sims, Self, Sioux Falls Amy Scott-Stoltz, League of Women Voters of South Dakota, Sioux Falls

MOTION: AMEND SB 24

24A

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, after "to " delete "provide for " On page 1, line 1, delete "voter registration" and insert On page 1, line 1, after "registration" insert "allow " On page 1, line 1, after "registration" insert "a change of address" On page 1, line 1, after "online " delete "voter registration " On the Introduced bill, delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

Section 1. That a NEW SECTION be added:

12-4-2.4. Online change of address.

A person eligible to vote under § 12-4-1, and who has a valid South Dakota driver license or South Dakota nondriver identification card, may submit a change of address for the purpose of accurate voter registration records through an online electronic system maintained by the Office of the Secretary of State. However, the initial voter registration process of an eligible applicant may not be submitted through any online electronic system.

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Crabtree

- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-3-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Diedrich, and Cammack
- Voting No: Schoenfish, Rohl, and Heinert

MOTION: DO PASS SB 24 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Bolin
Second by:	Schoenbeck
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (8-1-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Bolin, Schoenfish, Rohl, Diedrich, and Cammack
- Voting No: Heinert

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:SchoenbeckSecond by:CrabtreeAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Lorna Shell, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair