Committee: Senate Education Tuesday, January 19, 2021 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bolin, Sen. Heinert, Sen. V. J. Smith, Sen. Steinhauer, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Schoenfish, and Sen. Curd

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Curd

Tiffany Sanderson, Secretary, South Dakota Department of Education provided an overview of the department and information pertinent to education in South Dakota (Handout 1). Also attending from the Department of Education were Mary Stadick Smith, Deputy Secretary; Laura Scheibe, Director, Division of Career and Technical Education; and Shannon Malone, Director, Division of Learning and Instruction.

SB 45: repeal the annual survey of schools regarding cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction.

Presented by: MARY STADICK SMITH, Department of Education

Opponents: Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Assoc., Sioux

Falls

Dean Krogman, State Medical Association SD, Sioux Falls Nicole Neugebauer, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services

MOTION: DEFER SB 45 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Heinert

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Heinert, V. J. Smith, Steinhauer, Tobin, and Curd

Voting No: Schoenfish

SB 46: allow for the consideration of certain instruction to count towards the minimum number of hours required in a school term during a declared state of emergency.

Presented by: Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

MOTION: DO PASS SB 46

Moved by: Bolin Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Heinert, V. J. Smith, Steinhauer, Tobin, Schoenfish, and Curd

SB 49: revise property tax levies for school districts and to revise the state aid to general and special education formulas.

Presented by: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management

Proponents: Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, PIERRE

Others: Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

MOTION: RECOMMEND REFERRAL OF SB 49 TO COMMITTEE ON

APPROPRIATIONS

Moved by: Curd Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Heinert, V. J. Smith, Steinhauer, Tobin, Schoenfish, and Curd

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Sharon Welch, Committee Secretary

/s/ R. BLAKE CURD R. Blake Curd, Chair