

SOUTH DAKOTA SENATE EIGHTY-SEVENTH SESSION

Bob Gray President Pro tempore Matt Michels PRESIDENT

Fee Jacobsen Secretary

Calendar Thursday, March 1, 2012 31st Legislative Day SENATE CONVENES AT 1:00 PM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

ADDENDUM

CONSIDERATION OF EXECUTIVE VETOES

*Amended

<u>HB 1116</u>* (Veto letter HJ p 687) exempt bedding used for agricultural purposes from sales and use taxes.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

*Amended

SB 25* (Consideration of House Amendment HJ p 594) provide for the creation of a new

state accountability system for public elementary and secondary schools.

HCR 1016* (HJ p 677) Concerning endorsement of Taiwan's participation as observer in the

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and the 28th anniversary of sister state relations with the Province of Taiwan in the Republic of China (Taiwan).

CONSIDERATION OF REPORTS OF CONFERENCE COMMITTEES

*Amended

<u>SB 141</u>* revise the legal definition of the term, domestic abuse.

SB 183* establish the elements of the offense of juvenile sexting and to provide a penalty

therefor.

SB 193* revise the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2012 and to declare an

emergency.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEES APPOINTED THAT HAVE NOT REPORTED

*Amended

SB 139* establish the Teach for America grant program within the Department of Education

and to make an appropriation therefor.

Senate Committee: Heineman, Kraus, Bradford

House Committee: Sly, Haggar, Killer

<u>SB 77</u>* provide for the establishment of a scholarship program for postsecondary technical

institute students and to make an appropriation therefor.

Senate Committee: Olson, Vehle, Frerichs House Committee: Solum, Fargen, Cronin

<u>SB 130</u>* require the school board of each school district to adopt a policy prohibiting bullying.

Senate Committee: Lederman, Schlekeway, Bradford

House Committee: Sly, Feickert, Hansen LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATIONS

HC 1040	(HJ p 692) Posthumously honoring South Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper Douglas
	Leigh Nelson, Sr. (HP 110) for his thirty-five and one half years dedicated service to
	South Dakotans as a highway patrolman and a veteran of the U.S. Army.

- HC 1041 (HJ p 692) Honoring, commending, and thanking South Dakota Highway Patrolman Jerry Boyer for his thirty-two and one-half years of dedicated service to South Dakotans as a highway patrolman.
- HC 1042 (HJ p 693) Honoring the Canton High School wrestling program.
- HC 1043 (HJ p 694) Honoring, commending, and thanking South Dakota Highway Patrolman Captain Rod Olerud upon his retirement, for his many dedicated years of service to South Dakotans as a highway patrolman.
- HC 1044 (HJ p 694) Honoring, commending, and thanking South Dakota Highway Patrolman First Sergeant Steve Marquardt upon his retirement, for his many dedicated years of service to South Dakotans as a highway patrolman.
- HC 1045 (HJ p 694) Honoring, commending, and thanking South Dakota Highway Patrolman Trooper Fred Braddock upon his retirement, for his many dedicated years of service to South Dakotans as a highway patrolman.
- HC 1046 (HJ p 695) Honoring, commending, and thanking South Dakota Highway Patrolman Sergeant Gene Barthel upon his retirement, for his many dedicated years of service to South Dakotans as a highway patrolman.
- HC 1047 (HJ p 695) Honoring and commending Jerald "Jerry" Jon Smith for his selfless commitment as a volunteer coach with the Alexandria American Legion Boys Baseball program.
- HC 1048 (HJ p 696) Acknowledging the nine sovereign Tribes within the borders of South Dakota and recognizing Governor Dennis Daugaard for his dedication to promoting a cooperative government-to-government relationship between the Tribes and the State of South Dakota.

(HJ p 696) Honoring, commending, and thanking Mrs. Aldena Ecklein for over forty-HC 1049 one years of dedicated service to the youth and families of the McCook Central School District. (HJ p 697) Commending and honoring the town of Pierpont, South Dakota, on its HC 1050 one hundred twenty-fifth anniversary. (HJ p 698) Honoring the T.F. Riggs High School Wrestling Team of Pierre, South HC 1051 Dakota, for an excellent season and for its victorious performance at the 2012 Class A State Wrestling Championship Tournament. HC 1052 (HJ p 699) Congratulating and honoring the Huron High School Tigers Wrestling Team, its coaches, and student managers for ranking second in the 2012 South Dakota State Class A Wrestling Championship Tournament. HC 1053 (HJ p 699) Commending and honoring the National Merit PSAT Semifinalists Greg Berg, Sai Sai Chen, Jackson Erpenbach, Claire Gregg, Ethan Nemmers, and Hannah Purtell of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School for their outstanding academic achievements. (HJ p 700) Commending and honoring the 2011 Girls' Bowling State Champions of HC 1054 Sioux Falls Washington High School for their outstanding athletic performance. HC 1055 (HJ p 700) Commending and honoring the 2011 Boys' State AA Soccer Champions of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School for their outstanding athletic performance for the second consecutive year. HC 1056 (HJ p 701) Commending and honoring the 2011 Competitive Dance State AA Champions of Sioux Falls Washington High School for their outstanding athletic performance. HC 1057 (HJ p 701) Commending and honoring the 2011 Girls' Softball State Champions of Sioux Falls Washington High School for their outstanding athletic performance. HC 1058 (HJ p 702) Commending and honoring Lincoln High School, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, as a National School of Excellence for Speech and Debate by the National Forensic League. HC 1059 (HJ p 702) Commending and honoring the 2011 Girls' State AA Volleyball Champions of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School for their outstanding athletic performance for the second year in a row. (HJ p 703) Commending and honoring the 2011 Boys' Track State AA Champions HC 1060 of Washington High School, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, for their outstanding athletic performance. HC 1061 (HJ p 703) Commending and honoring the South Dakota Football Gatorade Player of the Year Alex Schultz and South Dakota Volleyball Gatorade Player of the Year Erin Radke of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School for their outstanding athletic performances. HC 1062 (HJ p 704) Commending and honoring the 2011 South Dakota Girls Outstanding Athlete and the South Dakota Gatorade Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year, Kari Heck of Washington High School, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, for her outstanding athletic performance. HC 1063 (HJ p 704) Commending and honoring National Merit Semifinalist Matt DeYoung of Sioux Falls Washington High School for his outstanding academic achievements. (HJ p 705) Commending and honoring Lake Area Technical Institute in Watertown, HC 1064

annual Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence Program.

South Dakota, on receiving the designation as a Finalist With Distinction in the first