Committee Agenda

Committee: Senate Commerce

Room: 423

Date: Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Time: 10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

SB 173 provide a maximum finance charge for payday loans and title loans.

Senators Jerstad, Fryslie, Merchant, and Schmidt and Representatives Hunhoff (Bernie), Blake, Burg, Kirkeby, Solberg, and Thompson

revise certain provisions regarding the days and hours that alcoholic beverages may be sold on a licensed premise and who may sell, serve, or dispense alcoholic beverages on a licensed premise and to revise certain provisions concerning the power of municipalities and counties to regulate the sale and use of alcoholic beverages.

Senators Nelson, Fryslie, Olson (Russell), and Tieszen and Representatives Turbiville, Conzet, Kirkeby, Krebs, Rausch, Romkema, Rounds, and Solum

increase the amount of coverage provided by the South Dakota Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association for long-term care insurance.

Senators Turbak Berry and Knudson and Representative Deadrick

SB 169 limit the subrogation of certain insurers unless and until the insurer is made whole.

Senators Turbak Berry, Adelstein, Ahlers, Bradford, Dempster, Gillespie, Heidepriem, Maher, Merchant, Nelson, Olson (Russell), Peterson, Rhoden, and Schmidt and Representatives Cutler, Deadrick, Engels, Faehn, Gibson, Greenfield, Hamiel, Hunhoff (Bernie), Jensen, Juhnke, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lust, Moser, Nygaard, Pitts, Solberg, Solum, Turbiville, and Verchio

BILLS FOR POSSIBLE ACTION WHICH HAVE HAD PRIOR HEARING.

SB 116 require that certain insurers provide notice by certified or registered mail under certain circumstances.

Senators Kloucek, Bartling, Gillespie, Peterson, and Turbak Berry and Representatives Kirschman, Blake, Brunner, Engels, Fargen, Feinstein, Frerichs, Hamiel, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Lange, Lederman, Moser, Romkema, Schrempp, Solberg, Sorenson, Thompson, and Turbiville