PRESS RELEASE



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For further information contact:

Clare Charlson, Principal Research Analyst SD Legislative Research Council 500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 605-773-3251

June 28, 2019

SPECIAL EDUCATION INTERIM LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE TO MEET

PIERRE – The Special Education Interim Legislative Committee, chaired by Rep. Nancy Rasmussen (R-Hurley), will hold its first meeting on Thursday, July 11, 2019, beginning at 9 a.m. CDT in Room 253 of the University Center in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

The interim committee was created through legislation (Senate Bill 3) enacted in 2019. The committee's purpose, in part, is to examine the diagnostic tools and assessments used to identify students in need of special education or special education and related services, and to examine the disability categories that are rising at the greatest rate and review eligibility requirements. That will be the committee's focus at this meeting. Committee members will hear from several presenters and learn about how autism spectrum disorder and dyslexia are diagnosed. The meeting is open to the public, and public testimony will be taken in the afternoon.

In addition to Rep. Rasmussen, the committee members are Senator Jim Bolin (R-Canton), Vice Chair; Representatives Fred Deutsch (R-Florence), Sue Peterson (R-Sioux Falls), and Ray Ring (D-Vermillion); and Ms. Sarah Carda (Yankton), Ms. Jennifer Conway (Harrisburg), Mr. Tom Culver (Avon), Ms. Lorrie Esmay (Murdo), Dr. Michelle Greseth (Sisseton), Mr. John Hamilton (Sioux Falls), Mr. Dan Martin (Timber Lake), Dr. Kari Oyen (Vermillion), and Mr. Neil Putnam (Mitchell).



This meeting is being held in a physically accessible location. Any individual needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) in advance of the meeting to make further arrangements.